The Job Interview: To Be Silent and Thought a Fool Or To Speak And…

Standard

unemployment16If you are an average American, chances are very good that you will have to go through multiple job interviews during your lifetime.

After you have survived these interrogations, you will probably second guess yourself:  Did I talk too much? Did I speak enough? Did I say something stupid?

Trust me. I speak from experience.

In August of 2013, foxbusiness.com ran a list of “10 Things Not to Say During a Job Interview”. The questions are the author’s. The analysis is mine (along with any smart alack remarks that may pop up).

1. “My boss at ABC Company was awful.”

It does not matter. You’re out of there. Plus, you are presenting yourself to the Interviewer as a complainer, i.e., a “bad attitude” employee.

2. “How much do I get paid? What about vacation time?”

Patience, grasshopper. All will be revealed in due time. “Ask not what the company can do for you, tell them what you can do for the company” (with apologies to Master Po and JFK).

3. “Did you know I ran cross country in high school?”

Great. What the heck does that have to do with the position that you are applying for?  Unless you’re going to be running around the building several times a day…

4. “I’m sorry, but I’m really nervous!”

Well, duuuh. The interviewer probably was also, when they applied for their job. It happens to all of us. Be cool. Be confident. Engage that winning personality of yours. Let them know that you are worth hiring.

5. “Man, I really need this job to pay off my credit card debt.”

Don’t we all. Any company worth their salt is going to run a background check on you. Your debt is not the interviewer’s concern. They have been charged with finding the best candidate for the position you are interviewing for. Concentrate on properly presenting your professional triumphs, not your personal challenges.

6. “I just need this job so I can fulfill my dream of being a CEO.”

Ambition can be a wonderful thing. However, the interviewer wants to know what you can do for their company today, and how good a fit you will be, right now, for this position.

7. “I need a flexible schedule to accommodate my in-home business.”

What’s your priority? Being a productive employee for the company you are interviewing for, or trying to get your own business started? A man cannot serve two masters. The interviewer will not be impressed by someone with split loyalties.

8. “What does your company do again?”

At this point, the Interviewer will probably look at you with that “Wow. Really?” look. This question definitely shows a lack of preparedness.

9. “I’m sorry, I don’t remember what I did during that internship.”

If you sleep-walked through your internship, what sort of worker are you going to be in their paid position? Interviewers are looking for potential employees who will be active and engaged.

10. “Wait, what position did I apply for?”

Are you kidding me? Again, a question like this one tells the interviewer that you just aren’t that motivated to work for their company. Why should they be interested in you, if you are not interested enough in them enough to remember what position you are applying for?

So, what should you say during a Job interview? Investopedia.com listed some suggestions in their article, published in April of 2010, 7 Things You Should Say In An Interview: (again, their questions…my analysis)

1. I am very familiar with what your company does.

I have found that the more research you do, the more Interviewers are impressed by how engaged you are.

2. I am flexible.

This is a great response, especially when they ask you which days and shifts that you are available to work. It demonstrates your work ethic and level of commitment.

3. I am energetic and have a positive attitude.

Go get ’em, Champ! This sort of positive statement and the attitude it displays,  is exactly what an Interviewer is wanting to hear from an applicant.

4. I have a great deal of experience.

This Statement lets the Interviewer know that this is “not your first rodeo” and that you will be ready to “hit the ground running”. In other words, you would a great fit in this position and you would easily assimilate into the corporate structure.

5. I am a team player.

Translation: I will do whatever is required of me to make this company a leader in the industry and to help foster a great work environment.

6. I am seeking to become an expert in my field.

This tells the interviewer that, if they hire you, you will continually seek to improve your skills and abilities while performing your job functions.

7. I am highly motivated.

In any job interview, motivation in the key. How motivated are you to get this job? How committed are you? The Interviewer wants to know. It is up to you to tell them.

So, the bottom line to all of this advice is…

Every  job interview is an opportunity to sell yourself to a prospective employer. By using the right phrases and presenting yourself in a professional manner, you maximize your chance of landing a great job and winding up in that cushy corner office on the ninth floor.

Do your research. Be on time for your interview. Stay calm…and “sell the product”…YOU..

Never Give up. Never Surrender.

-Allen

 

 

Leave a Reply

